Invitation to attend

The conference is free and open to everyone with an interest in philosophy, perhaps especially those with an interest in theories of truth, history of analytic philosophy, and philosophical logic.

Anyone who would like to attend should submit a registration form.  Or, you may contact one of the conference curators listed below.

Format of the sessions

We have organised the conference rather hastily over the last few weeks, so we are most appreciative of the participants to volunteer their time and to share their thoughts with us. Primarily, over everything else, we want speakers and attendees to have an enjoyable time under what are otherwise extraordinary and unusual times.

Presentations: For colloquia on 27 July and 30 July, speakers have 90 minutes to present, including Q&A time. Ideally, speakers will present their work in approximately 45 minutes and leave approximately 25-30 minutes for Q&A.

Special session on Wolenski and Simons' 'De Veritate...' on 28 July: Jan will begin with a retrospective on the genesis of the paper. Then, Anna and Maria will each have 45 minutes to present where each presentation is followed by 10 minutes of Q&A, and Peter and Jan will have time to address substantive issues. Following that, there will be approximately 30-40 minutes for Q&A.

Author Meets Critics sessions: the author may begin with a précis of the book, followed on by a comment by each critic, and the author will be afforded some time to reply. That will be followed by audience Q&A.

Audience rules of engagement

A simple request

In lieu of conference registration fees, hotel and travel accommodation, and restaurant and pub bills, conference curators humbly ask participants and attendees to make a donation to a charitable organisation, such as Oxfam, Black Lives Matter Global Network, or Centre for Disaster Philanthropy - COVID-19 Response Fund.

 

Conference curators:

Joe Ulatowski (joe.ulatowski@waikato.ac.nz), 

Robert Barnard (rwbjr@olemiss.edu),

Adam Podlaskowski (apodlaskowski@fairmontstate.edu), 

Marcus Rossberg (marcus.rossberg@uconn.edu), and 

Chase Wrenn (cwrenn@ua.edu).

Monday, 27 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Adam Podlaskowski

Wittgenstein on Truth

Paul Horwich (New York University)

Why is Truth So Elusive

María Jose Frapolli (University of Granada | University College London)

Directionality for Minimalism: A Piecemeal Approach

Susanna Melkonian-Altshuler (University of Connecticut)

Tuesday, 28 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Joe Ulatowski

History of Early Analytic Theories of  Truth:

"De Veritate: Austro-Polish Contributions to the Theory of Truth from Brentano to Tarski" 30 Years Later

Jan Woleński & Peter Simons

 

Analysis of Concepts from Brentano to Tarski: Austro-Polish Contributions to Methodology of Philosophy

Anna Brożek (University of Warsaw)

Judgements as Bearers of Truth

Maria van der Schaar (Leiden University) [SLIDES]

Reminiscence and comments by Jan Woleński (Jagiellonian University, Kraków) and Peter Simons (Trinity College, Dublin)

Thursday, 30 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator: 

Chase Wrenn

Propositions and their Truth Conditions

Arvid Båve (University of Kent / Stockholm University)

 

An Inferentialist Redundancy Theory of Truth

Marcus Rossberg (University of Connecticut)

Thursday, 30 July | Friday, 31 July

19:00PM EDT

12:00AM BST +1day

1:00AM CEST +1day

8:00AM KST +1day

9:00AM AEST +1day
 

Moderator:

Joe Ulatowski

Smoke and Flickering Shadows: Strawson and Evans on Truth and Factuality

Huw Price (University of Sydney / Cambridge University)

Discussion Panelists:

Douglas Edwards (Utica College)

Cheryl Misak (University of Toronto)

Amie Thomasson (Dartmouth College)

Monday, 3 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

 

Moderator:

Chase Wrenn

Author Meets Critics:

Douglas Edwards' The Metaphysics of Truth

Nathan Kellen (Kansas State University)

Michael Lynch (University of Connecticut)

David Taylor (University of Minnesota)

Author:  

Douglas Edwards (Utica College)

Tuesday, 4 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Bob Barnard

Author Meets Critics:

Cheryl Misak's Frank Ramsey: Sheer Excess of Powers

Critics:

Simon Blackburn (UNC / Cambridge University)

Jennifer Hornsby (Birbeck College, London)

Author:

Cheryl Misak (University of Toronto) [HANDOUTS]

Thursday, 6 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Morning Tea Social Hour

  • Recap of the conference

  • Discussions regarding the Future of Truth project at the University of Connecticut Humanities Institute

  • An Introduction to the Virtual International Consortium for Truth Research

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now