top of page
Gradient Texture

27 July 2020 - 6 August 2020

An Online Zoom Conference

Truth 20/20

Monday, 27 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Adam Podlaskowski

Wittgenstein on Truth

Paul Horwich (New York University)

Why is Truth So Elusive

María Jose Frapolli (University of Granada | University College London)

Directionality for Minimalism: A Piecemeal Approach

Susanna Melkonian-Altshuler (University of Connecticut)

Tuesday, 28 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Joe Ulatowski

History of Early Analytic Theories of  Truth:

"De Veritate: Austro-Polish Contributions to the Theory of Truth from Brentano to Tarski" 30 Years Later

Jan Woleński & Peter Simons

 

Analysis of Concepts from Brentano to Tarski: Austro-Polish Contributions to Methodology of Philosophy

Anna Brożek (University of Warsaw)

Judgements as Bearers of Truth

Maria van der Schaar (Leiden University) [SLIDES]

Reminiscence and comments by Jan Woleński (Jagiellonian University, Kraków) and Peter Simons (Trinity College, Dublin)

Thursday, 30 July

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator: 

Chase Wrenn

Propositions and their Truth Conditions

Arvid Båve (University of Kent / Stockholm University)

 

An Inferentialist Redundancy Theory of Truth

Marcus Rossberg (University of Connecticut)

Thursday, 30 July | Friday, 31 July

19:00PM EDT

12:00AM BST +1day

1:00AM CEST +1day

8:00AM KST +1day

9:00AM AEST +1day
 

Moderator:

Joe Ulatowski

Smoke and Flickering Shadows: Strawson and Evans on Truth and Factuality

Huw Price (University of Sydney / Cambridge University)

Discussion Panelists:

Douglas Edwards (Utica College)

Cheryl Misak (University of Toronto)

Amie Thomasson (Dartmouth College)

Monday, 3 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

 

Moderator:

Chase Wrenn

Author Meets Critics:

Douglas Edwards' The Metaphysics of Truth

Nathan Kellen (Kansas State University)

Michael Lynch (University of Connecticut)

David Taylor (University of Minnesota)

Author:  

Douglas Edwards (Utica College)

Tuesday, 4 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Moderator:

Bob Barnard

Author Meets Critics:

Cheryl Misak's Frank Ramsey: Sheer Excess of Powers

Critics:

Simon Blackburn (UNC / Cambridge University)

Jennifer Hornsby (Birbeck College, London)

Author:

Cheryl Misak (University of Toronto) [HANDOUTS]

Thursday, 6 August

10:00AM EDT
15:00PM BST

16:00PM CEST

11:00PM KST

12:00AM AEST +1day

Morning Tea Social Hour

  • Recap of the conference

  • Discussions regarding the Future of Truth project at the University of Connecticut Humanities Institute

  • An Introduction to the Virtual International Consortium for Truth Research

bottom of page